We are working with Barnet, Enfield and Haringey Mental Health NHS Trust as the North London Mental Health Partnership.

Nursing revalidation

The Nurse Revalidation is the process that all nurses and midwives in the UK need to follow to maintain their registration with the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC). This process replaces the Prep requirements, and you will have to revalidate every three years to renew your registration.
Revalidation is straightforward and will help you as a nurse to demonstrate that you practise safely and effectively. It will encourage you to reflect on the role of the Code in your practice and demonstrate that you are 'living' the standards set out within it.
You will need to submit your application for revalidation online, so it’s very important that you have an NMC Online account on the NMC Website.
The revalidation process has several requirements:
  • 450 practice hours, or 900 if renewing as both a nurse and midwife
  • 35 hours of Continuing Professional Development (CPD) including 20 hours of participatory learning
  • Five pieces of practice-related feedback
  • Five written reflective accounts
  • Reflective discussion
  • Health and character declaration
  • Professional indemnity arrangement
  • Confirmation

The NMC have produced mandatory templates to be used as part of the registrants portfolio, in addition to portfolio examples and guidance material on ‘how to revalidate’ for both registrants and their line managers, which can be found on their website.

You might want to think about using your portfolio and the evidence included to support you in your career. 
The Trust also offers quarterly information briefings. 

You can find out more about revalidation briefings by emailing dean.gimblett@candi.nhs.uk

Leave feedback

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.